Join Us This Fall

for Memoir Craft, Inspiration, and Publishing

A Day of Memoir Magic: September 13

Featuring New York Times best-selling author Lidia Yuknavitch (The Chronology of Water), industry expert Jane Friedman, and literary agent Regina Brooks.

Early-bird price: $149

What Made Inheritance a Best-Selling Memoir?

4-week class: MONDAYS: Sept 16-Oct 7

Taught by Brooke Warner and Linda Joy Myers

Early-bird price: $99

Early-bird Bundle

Register for both classes by September 1st — Just $199!

++ These are online courses and will be recorded! ++

Day of Memoir Magic

A Day of Memoir Craft, Inspiration, and Publishing

Sept 13, 2019: 10am-3pm PT / 1pm-6pm ET

Join Linda Joy and Brooke and our amazing guests—New York Times best-selling author Lidia Yuknavitch (The Chronology of Water), industry expert Jane Friedman, and literary agent Regina Brooks.

Early-bird registration: $149.

10am PT/1pm ET: Opening the Door to the Magic

Linda Joy Myers kicks off the day with how to begin your memoir, and how to listen to the stirrings inside to continue on and know which threads to follow. This hour is an exploration of desire, what keeps us coming back to our memoirs, and how writing leads to more remembering.

11am PT/2pm ET: Narrative Arc and the Development of YOU

Brooke Warner offers a hands-on hour focused on the craft of narration—and how to track and follow the threads of your story given the many iterations of self and what you did or didn’t know when. She touches upon authenticity, truth, and self-expression, leaving you more grounded and empowered in your voice.

Noon PT/3pm ET: How to Write Beyond the Play-By-Play to Touch Your Readers' Hearts

Lidia Yuknavitch teaches memoir as “lifestory” which bridges to a reader’s life. She introduces storytelling strategies that move beyond events that have happened to us in our lives, and also touches upon the fear factor that can stop memoirists in their tracks. Importantly, she speaks to what writers can do to transform their fear into creative inspiration.

1pm PT/4pm ET—The Many Paths to Your Publishing Dream

Literary agent Regina Brooks brings a memoir-specific lens to this hour on publishing paths, explaining what options are available to memoirists in today’s publishing climate. Regina informs aspiring authors about everything they need to know, bringing on-the-ground insight into the industry’s current relationship with this genre.

2pm PT/5pm ET: Writing for Love and Money

Industry expert Jane Friedman closes the day with an important lesson on the business of being a writer. Because money is often a taboo subject for writers, Jane shines a light on it, giving authors clear-eyed and strategic information about developing revenue streams and a business model best suited to their personality, their writing, and their career expectations.

What Made Inheritance a
Best-selling Memoir?

Mondays, Sept 16-30 & Oct 7 at 4pm PT / 7pm ET

This 4-week course focuses on what memoirists can learn from Dani Shapiro’s take on writing what you know, circling your obsessions, and finding your truth in your unique voice. We will focus on the power of universal writing, supporting your reader to feel and experience your story as their own, and how to weave narration (and narrative voice) between the past and the present.

Early-bird registration: $99.

Class 1
Sept 16: HONORING THE STORY THAT WON'T LEAVE YOU ALONE

A look at the “unthought known” and obsession and how to use these to your advantage (and ward off your critics).

Class 2
Sept 23: HARNESSING SELF-UNDERSTANDING IN MEMOIR

How to write about who you think you are, making sense of the complicated layers of self, and unpacking other people’s motivations in your story.

Class 3
Sept 30: WEAVING IN THE PAST TO MAKE SENSE OF THE PRESENT

How to use narration to integrate your story (through tense, memory, flashback, and skillful transitions.

Class 4
Oct 7: THE POWER OF UNIVERSAL WRITING

How to make your writing resonant to readers no matter what your life experience or theirs, taking a deep look at reflection, takeaway, and finding meaning in scenes and in prose.

YOUR TEACHERS

Lidia Yuknavitch is the author of The Chronology of Wateras well as four other books. She is known for her TED talk “The Beauty of Being a Misfit,” which has been viewed over 2.5 million times, and her book The Misfit’s Manifesto. She founded the workshop series Corporeal Writing in Portland Oregon, where she teaches both in person and online.

Jane Friedman has 20 years of experience in the publishing industry, and is the author of The Business of Being a Writer, which Publishers Weekly said is “destined to become a staple reference book for writers and those interested in publishing careers.” Jane is the co-founder of The Hot Sheet and maintains an award-winning blog for writers at JaneFriedman.com.

Regina Brooks is the founder and President of Serendipity Literary Agency. Regina has over a decade of experience in senior positions at major publishing houses. She is a graduate of the Howard University Publishing Institute in Washington DC and the author of Never Finished Never Done, Writing Great Books for Young Adults, and You Should Really Write a Book.

Linda Joy Myers is the president and founder of the National Association of Memoir Writers, and the author of two award-winning memoirs Don’t Call Me Mother and Song of the Plains. Her three books, The Power of Memoir—How to Write Your Healing Story, Becoming Whole, and Journey of Memoir, guide writers through the stages of creating a powerful, truthful, and universal story.

Brooke Warner is publisher of She Writes Press, president of Warner Coaching Inc., and author of Write On, Sisters! (brand-new this August), Green-Light Your Book, What’s Your Book?, and How to Sell Your Memoir. She is committed to helping writers become creative entrepreneurs and thought leaders, a message conveyed in her 2017 TEDx talk, “Green-Light Revolution.”